All That Matters (Poem 79 of 99)

2 weeks ago

How do I tell her that I think she is beautiful without her screaming and running away?

How do I tell her her heart is a place my once nomadic soul now wants to stay?

Well, perhaps brushing my teeth will be a start- they say women are sensitive to smell

But then, I’m sensitive to rejection, so perhaps it is best not to tell

Her anything at all and hide away find something else to occupy my mind

Like Sudoku quizzes and late night café’s where my teeth I can grind

But I’ve already had my fair share of mind games with this “should I, should I not”?

And late night coffee won’t keep me as warm as that smile she has got

 I’ll take a shower and some deodorant spray and up at her work turn

And tell her how I feel, no euphemisms no codes to discern

Yesterday

And, ladies and gentlemen, that is exactly what I did and let me tell you the outcome

But note, I stopped off on the way to buy some mint flavoured chewing gum

Calm the nerves, freshen the breath, you can see I was really trying

And boy oh boy do you have to when your mouth smells like onions perpetually frying

So I entered the store she works in, determined to come across charming

Not like some loser who under hobbies on his CV lists self-harming

 I walked up to her thinking of good conversation steerage

And my gum popped out my mouth, smack bang into her cleavage

Determined to be chivalrous I instantly tried to pick it out

And then, “stop it you perve”! is all I heard her shout

 I tried to tell her I love her, but above her screams she couldn’t hear

And now I have a sexual harassment charge, and two eyes prone to tear.

Forever More

How do I tell her I love her? How do I tell her she’s beautiful?

Well, hopefully, somewhere, somehow, maybe translated through birdsong or summer breeze

She’ll hear my honest words. She may not respond, but she’ll know, she’ll know

And perhaps, perhaps, that is all that matters.

Dasein Petals © Copyright 2013

Poem 79 of 99 to raise money for operations for deformed, poverty stricken childrenSponsor me.

@DaseinPetals #99poems

Leave a Reply

