Read for Freedom

When I was younger and all my peers were out drinking and smoking,

Excluding self from their circle of friendship

Because I thought I was too cool to just hang around,

I found a goldmine;

A place nobody knew of.

I met the spirits of the dead

The spirits of the fighters who lived nameless

But died, buried in decades and centuries of admiration.

I found this place by the park

This place, a sanctity where God commanded me to go

Without my knowing.

A place where the body is extinguished by the flame of imagination

And you float in stories, tales and predictions.

This place was my local library.

 Dasein Petals © Copyright 2013

(Poem 27 of 99 to raise money for operations for deformed, poverty stricken children). Sponsor me.

@DaseinPetals #99poems

 

Leave a Reply

