A World at Peace (Poem 21 of 99)

Raindrops won’t nurture the crops
Sun-rays won’t warm the children playing in parks
Rainbows won’t march their beauty across the sky after the storm
If the lady of my life is not smiling
   —
I ordered drinks at the bar of her love and she poured her heart entirely into mine
satisfying my appetite for debauchery.
I put them on my tab and promised her
I’d repay her one day.
And that day has arrived;
a day that will hold all days from now until the end of time.
I used to talk to her in monologues with my headphones on
my iPod playing only what I wanted to hear
and it was never her opinion.
She’d speak to me with maple syrup kisses:
Always of sweetness and understanding
But my self-indulgence in her only returned grapefruit grunts.
 Today grapefruits will turn to cherries
and she will smile until the sun burns out.
Because the wars won’t stop
Cancer won’t be cured
And the hungry will not be fed
Until she has reason to smile
so I am servant to her wishes
and she wishes for nothing more than my happiness
and my happiness comes from nothing but her smile.
 

Dasein Petals © Copyright 2013

               (Poem 21 0f 99 to raise money for operations for deformed, poverty stricken children). Sponsor me.

@DaseinPetals #99poems

 
 
Leave a Reply

